Explained: What Is Common Entrance Test For UG Admissions In Central Universities?


New Delhi: The University Grants Commission (UGC) has introduced the Central University Entrance Test (CUET), which is now mandatory for undergraduate admission at any of the central universities in the country. 

This means that central universities will have to use CUET scores to admit students to undergraduate programmes from now on. The CUET is expected to be held in the first week of July, said UGC chairman M Jagadesh Kumar.

Thus, aside from the qualifying criteria of various universities, students’ Class 12 board examination results will have no influence on their admission.

READ | CUET 2022-23: ​​Admission In Central Universities Only Through Common University Entrance Test

What Is CUET?

Various governments have attempted, over the years, to replace several admission examinations with a single one in order to decrease the load on higher education seekers.

In actuality, CUET is not a novel concept. Under the UPA-II administration, it was established as the Central Universities Common Entrance Test (CUCET) in 2010, but it failed to gain traction because just 14 central varsities had implemented it till last year.

CUET is a redesigned version of CUCET that is now mandatory for all 45 central universities. This follows the declaration of the new National Education Policy (NEP), which argues for the use of an entrance exam for university admissions.

Who Will Conduct CUET Exam?

The Common University Entrance Test (CUET) is a computerised exam that will be administered by the National Testing Agency (NTA), which will release the examination pattern on Tuesday, according to the UGC Chairman.

The examination application window will open in the first week of April.

Following CUET, each varsity would admit students based on a merit list issued by NTA, with no common counselling.

What Is CUET Exam Format?

The CUET will be conducted in 13 languages — Hindi, Marathi, Gujarati, Tamil, Telegu, Kannada, Malayalam, Urdu, Assamese, Bengali, Punjabi, Odia and English.

The test will be administered in two shifts. Candidates will take Section I (languages), two chosen domain subjects, and the general test during the first shift. They will appear for the remaining four domain subjects, as well as an extra language test, in the second shift.

Education Loan Information:
Calculate Education Loan EMI


Leave a Comment